The Seven Principles of Spiritualism

 The Seven Principles of Spiritualism, as taught at the

Our allegiance is not to a creed, not to a book, not to a church, but to the Great Spirit of life and His eternal natural laws, God in the broadest possible terms of description.

"Spiritualism is the one religion which requires neither a saviour nor a mediator, it asks for no pardon, it preaches no damnation and no easy road to progress or forgiveness through a formula. It does nothing to violate reason, for to reason it appeals always."


 Unlike most major religions, Spiritualism does not tie its adherence to a creed or dogma.

Rather, the philosophy of Spiritualism is founded upon seven basic principles, which were developed and derived through the mediumship of one of Spiritualismís greatest pioneers, Emma Hardinge Britten, inspired in 1871 by the communicating spirit of Robert Owen (the founder, when alive in the physical body, of the Co-operative movement).

These Seven Principles, which act as guidelines for the development of personal philosophy of how to live oneís life, are as follows: -

1 - The Fatherhood of God
2 - The Brotherhood of Man
3 - The Communion of Spirits and the Ministry of Angels
4 - The Continuous Existence of the Human Soul
5 - Personal Responsibility
6 - Compensation and Retribution Hereafter for all the Good and Evil Deeds Done on Earth
7 - Eternal Progress Open to Every Human Soul